Seriously, You Haven’t Seen That?

There are so many movies I haven’t seen. It happens nearly everyday that I read or hear about some film that sounds fantastic that I have not  seen, sometimes that I’ve never even heard of. To understand any art form you need to understand where you’ve been in addition to where you are. Simply watching the “best” movies that come out each is insufficient if you want to nurture a complete and rich film vocabulary. This year I endeavor to work toward fixing the deficiencies in my own film vocabulary.

This is the first in, what I plan to be, a series of posts. I have selected two movies per month that I have never seen before. I plan to watch them over the course of the coming year, one every two weeks or so, and write about my thoughts and reactions. Some are famous, some are not, some old, some new, some domestic, some foreign. My purpose in posting this is two-fold (beyond simply the pleasure of watching movies). First, like Odysseus at the mast, I hope that by binding myself in the present to actions in the future I will be more inclined to follow through with my plan.  Secondly, I hope that this will provide an opportunity for me to improve my writing.

I encourage anyone reading this to respond (perhaps with encouragement or (more likely) astonishment that I’ve never bothered to see “Inception”) both to this post and upcoming  entries. The first selection is Billy Wilder’s Hollywood classic, and often referenced, “Sunset Boulevard”.

The complete list is below.

January: Sunset Blvd.; Velvet Goldmine

February: Beyond the Lights; Eyes Wide Shut

March: Moon; Stalker

April: Gone With the Wind; Stagecoach

May: The 400 Blows; Clueless

June: Broadcast News; Sullivan’s Travels

July: Slacker; Blow Out

August: The Big Sleep; The Third Man

September: Y Tu Mama Tambien; Inception

October: Badlands; Alien/Aliens (this is a two fer)

November: Tokyo Story; The Bicycle Thief

December: 8 ½; Mean Streets

2 thoughts on “Seriously, You Haven’t Seen That?

  1. Ok, here’s my plan:

    January: Sunset Blvd.; The Big Short

    February: Beyond the Lights; Anomalisa

    March: Spotlight; Stalker

    April: Creed; Stagecoach

    May: The 400 Blows; Diary of a Teenage Girl

    June: Broadcast News; Sullivan’s Travels

    July: Slacker; Blow Out

    August: The Big Sleep; The Third Man

    September: Duke of Burgundy; The Hateful Eight

    October: Badlands; The Act of Killing/The Look of Silence (this is a two fer)

    November: Tokyo Story; The Bicycle Thief

    December: 8 ½; Mean Streets

    Like

Leave a Reply

